Lucas Bale

Award-Winning Speculative Fiction Author

Defiance Release Date, The Heretic Reviews and Some Other Stuff

It's been some time since I updated this blog – it's been a hectic last month! My family and I have recently emigrated from the United Kingdom to Copenhagen, Denmark and I have terminated my employment to write full-time. At the same time, I have been working hard on writing the first draft of Defiance. The blurb is done, as is the page on my own website, as well as the Goodreads page.

Please go help me make some noise around this book, which I think is the best work I have ever done.

As I've previously said, I want to release the Beyond the Wall books regularly, with a gap of around 3 months between each one.

Defiance will be available for pre-order on Monday, November 3rd, 2014. It will be released on Monday, November 17th, 2014.

 

The Heretic was released in July, so I'm already likely to be a little late with Defiance, but on September 1st, I started writing full-time. I have another writing commission too, which takes up some of my time, but I am able to devote a considerable majority of my working week to writing fiction now.

I will be sending out Advance Review Copies from late October, with a view to getting reviews during the pre-order period. If you're interested, email here.

 

If you want to receive updates on Defiance, and anything else I write (and have permanent, FREE access to every short-story I ever write in the future), sign up to my mailing list. I send emails out every so often and they are always intended to be a good read.

The Heretic has been receiving some great reviews lately, and I thought I would give you a little breakdown of some of the most encouraging comments (a huge Thank You to everyone who has left reviews):

A fine science fiction adventure and a strong debut from a new author, may there be more to come from him.
— Michael Brookes, Author of Faust 2.0
...all I can say is, keep this series coming, Mr. Bale! I am completely floored and speechless!
— Nichole's Goodreads Review
This fine novel pulls you in from the well picked Milton quote onwards. Bale writes evocatively, with characters that are sympathetic and a plot that twists and turns as skillfully as the starship Soteria. There is a well developed world view here, with an attention to detail that stretches from credible theology to respect for physics, even to the extent of an FTL method which has recognisable antecedents but is still fresh and interesting. Fans of Firefly and Iain M Banks will certainly find much to enjoy here.
— Patrick's Goodreads Review
I recommend this book to everyone who loves science fiction or just wants to start. Lucas Bale has created a world that felt so ethereal and captivating. I couldn’t put this book down and I will definitely be getting the second book when it is released. Lucas Bale I NEED the next book I must know what is going to happen next. I shall support you from the sidelines as you continue this series, good luck!
— Anaika's Goodreads Review
I am not usually a reader of s.f., may dabble occasionally in the genre, however ‘The Heretic’ by Lucas Bale was one book I could notput down. I was gripped right from the first to the last page, would say it is well worth getting hold of. ... I am now eagerly anticipating the next episode in the story ‘Beyond the Wall’
— Peter's Goodreads Review
What a great book! It reminded me of Firefly in the best possible way.
— Christine's Goodreads Review

I am also going to be writing the third book in the Beyond the Wall series during NaNoWriMo. It will be longer than 50,000 words, so I doubt I'd get it finished in time for the end of November unless I start early! So, as soon as Defiance goes off for editing, I'll be hard at work on the third instalment in the series. I think this disqualifies me from NaNoWriMo proper, but I'll keep you updated on whether I finish 50,000 words in November! The third book should be available by January 1st, 2015 – just in time for the New Year!

However, the really interesting news is that I'll be writing the first instalment in a new series too – it will start life as a short story which will form part of an exciting new anthology myself and some other great indie authors are putting together called STRANDED. It will also serve as the introduction to the new series. All I can say at this point is that the settings will include Mars and Earth in the near future and carry some extremely interesting new themes in my fiction. I am really excited about this one, and I will be working with a close friend to develop it. We would hope to have it the short story ready for you, as with the rest of the anthology, soon. I'll update on the anthology itself in October, but suffice to say, it is shaping up to be fantastic.

That's all for now and, as ever, thank you for reading. Remember, If you want to receive updates on Defiance, and anything else I write (and have permanent, FREE access to every short-story I ever write in the future), sign up to my mailing list.

 

 

original-logos_2015_Apr_6850-4596721.png

All words copyright Lucas Bale, 2015